Resource Forum Meeting 2

Second Meeting of the TPOS 2020 Resource Forum (TRF-2):
Advancing Into the Transition and Implementation Phase 2017-2020

16-17 May 2017

TPOS 2020 TRF-2 Group Photo
Chair: Craig McLean
Assistant Administrator
Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR)
US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Venue: The Hawaii Imin International Conference Center
Honolulu, Hawaii USA


TPOS 2020 TRF-2 Session Desired Outcomes

  • A shared understanding of the recommendations from the TPOS 2020 First Report including advancements towards research and observing activities to be developed in response to those recommendations,
  • A shared understanding of organization interests in the Tropical Pacific Observing System including current activities and potential near and long-term activities,
  • Specific next steps for the Steering Committee for 2017-2020 including membership, governance strategy, and identification of new subcommittees (e.g. TPOS Transition and Implementation Task Team),
  • Preliminary discussion of resourcing needs for the TPOS 2020 Project,
  • Agreement on revisions to the TPOS 2020 governance.


Agenda and Associated Documents

Associated documents:

Introduction: Welcoming Remarks, Session Chair: Sue Barrel, BoM Australia

    Item 1. Review of TPOS 2020 Progress, Meeting Objectives, and Adoption of Agenda: Craig McLean, NOAA OAR
    Item 2. Welcome video from Vladimir Ryabinin, United Nations
    Item 3. Understanding TPOS 2020: Progress and Vision: Billy Kessler, NOAA PMEL- TPOS Steering Committee Co-Chair

Session 1: Overview of Organization Interests in TPOS, Session Chair: Yoshihisa Shirayama, JAMSTEC

    Item 1. Australia BoM/CSIRO: Sue Barrell, Andreas Schiller
    Item 2. China QNLM: Wenju CAI
    Item 3. China SOA: Weidong YU
    Item 4. Ecuador CIIFEN: Rodney Martinez (Remote)
    Item 5. Indonesia BMKG: Nelly Florida
    Item 6. Japan JAMSTEC: Yoshihisa Shirayama
    Item 7. Korea KIOST: Jae Hak Lee (Remote)
    Item 8. SPREP: Tom Moore
    Item 9. USA, NOAA/NASA: Joe Pica

Session 2: TPOS 2020 First Report: Recommendations and Response (Part 1), Session Chair: Nelly Florida

    Item 1. Overview of TPOS 2020 First Report Recommendations: Neville Smith – TPOS SC Co-Chair

    • Theme 1. Subsurface Backbone and Fluxes and Overall System Design (Lead: David Legler; Response sections: 2.1.1, 2.1.3)
    • Theme 2a. Western Tropical Pacific Actions (Weidong Yu, 2.1.1)
    • Theme 2b. Reconfiguring the Tropical Moored Array for Regimes (2.1.1, 2.1.2,2.1.3)
    • Theme 3. Backbone Surface Observations (Eric Lindstrom, 2.1.2)
    • Theme 4. Biogeochemical Observations (Chris Sabine, 2.1.4)
    • Theme 5. Technology Development (Ken Ando, 2.1.5)

Session 3: TPOS 2020 First Report: Recommendations and Response (Part 2), Session Chair: Tom Moore

    Item 2. Review of Responses and Next Steps: Eric Lindstrom

Session 4: Future of TPOS 2020

    Item 1. TPOS Transition and Implementation: Neville Smith, TPOS 2020 Co-Chair
    Item 2. TPOS Governance: Sue Barrell, BoM Australia
    Item 3. Future Directions: Craig McLean, NOAA OAR


Participating Organizations:

  1. Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM)
  2. Australian Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
  3. China National Marine Environmental Forecasting Center (NMEFC/SOA)
  4. China Qingdao National Laboratory for Marine Science and Technology (QNLM)
  5. Centro Internacional para la Investigación del Fenómeno de El Niño (Ecuador-Remote)
  6. Comisión Permanente del Pacífico Sur (Chile, Columbia, Ecuador, Peru)
  7. France Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD)
  8. Indonesia Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysical Agency (BMKG)
  9. Japan Marine-Earth Science and Technology Center (JAMSTEC)
  10. Korea Institute for Ocean Science and Technology (KIOST-Remote)
  11. Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)
  12. United Nations Environmental Science and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)/Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC-Video)
  13. USA National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  14. USA National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)